Entrepreneurship Wasn’t What I Expected..

In my mind, I knew I wanted to be an entrepreneur – I knew what I wanted to do: in my mind I knew it would be difficult, but the way I imagined it would be fun and I’d have the support of my peers.. Nothing could be further from the truth..

Being an entrepreneur is the hardest thing I’ve ever pursued in my life, so far! I graduated in 2011 with a Bachelors in 3D Fine Arts with a focus in Jewelry Design. Many people confuse 3D Fine Arts with Graphic Design, but it’s just a fancy way of calling artists who create 3 dimensional al, such as Sculpture, Ceramics, Metal Arts, etc.

In August 2011, just 3 months after graduating from school, I landed a modest low-paying job that would allow me to get into the field and perfect my craft (so I thought: that’s another story for another day, about the hell I endured there). I took on that job, and stayed with them for 2 years, then left and started my own business in 2013. It has been an uphill struggle since day one and I am still not where I need to be to survive, but I have not given up.

At the moment, my business is a one man show; I do EVERYTHING on my own, and it is the most stressful and overwhelming situation that I’ve put myself in. Here’s most of what I do to run the business:

  • Finance/Expenses
  • Inventory
  • Website Maintenance/Design
  • Design
  • Production
  • Run Social Media Pages
  • Marketing
  • Build Retail Connections
  • Pricing
  • Apply to Trade Shows/Craft Shows: Apply, set up, take down
  • Photography
  • Shop Around for Supplies/Equipment
  • Attend Expos
  • Customer Service
  • Shipping

I think you get the point.. This can be so confusing at times: you forget things sometimes because they start to overlap.. With all that said, I wouldn’t trade it for anything, building a business without investors is very difficult, but it’s taught me so much patience. It feels like what I imagine being a parent is like: watching your baby grow each day, through the good and bad days, you still want to see your baby grow.

Once I get a studio space (away from home), I will be able to hire an intern, to assist me in exchange of teaching them some of the skill sets to run their own business someday and jewelry production.

Leave a Reply

