Scrumptious, Healthy, Spicy Collard Greens (Non-Traditional)

Prep Time: 15 Mins, Cook Time: 15-20 Mins, Total Time: 30-35 Mins

I am a big fan of green leafy vegetables.. I HATE FRUIT (except for pineapples and strawberries), but I love vegetables.. As a kid, I loved Brussel sprouts, I didn’t understand why everyone made such a big deal about them not being good. Ha!

Growing up Haitian, I never really was exposed to Soul Food, so we learned how to cook certain greens the way we would do things in our culture. I never understood why collard greens were boiled because all of the nutrients are drained out and not consumed; that’s the best part about leafy greens. I recently found out that I am anemic, so I want to eat way more greens that I already did before.

I want to share this method that my mom taught me, and I’ve altered it (just a tiny bit) to fit my taste; today will be the third day in a row that I’ll be making them because my family is crazy about them. These are easily a favorite vegan dish to share (use vegetable stock) It’s easy to do:

Ingredients & Supplies:

  • At least 2-3lbs of Collard Greens
  • 2 Large Carrots or 3 Medium carrots
  • 1/4 cup of chicken or vegetable stock
  • Sea Salt & Pepper (to your taste)
  • 1 Small Habanero Pepper (you can skip this, if you prefer)
  • Oil (your preference)
  • Food Processor
  • Large Pot

First, separate the leaves from the stem completely, then make sure to clean your collard greens, rinse thoroughly at least twice. Rinse your carrots (skin them if desired, but I don’t). Use a food processor with the shredding disc attachment (to make things easy & quick). Turn the processor on, and use the pushers to get the greens through the mouth. This will shred them fast, empty out the processor as needed, to avoid damage to the blades. (Put into a big bowl when the processor fills). While shredding the greens, add the habanero pepper (if desired), and add the carrots in the shredder as well. Add oil into the pot and turn the stove on medium heat. Add all of the shredded ingredients together, pour 1/4 cup of stock, sea salt & pepper directly into the pot. Mix well, using a wooden spoon. Cover the pot and turn the heat on medium high and let them sweat cook. PLEASE WATCH THEM or else they WILL BURN, if left unsupervised too long. Stir and add stock as needed, but they aren’t supposed to be watery. Cook until they are dark green, taste them if you want to be sure they are cooked. ENJOY!

*Keep an eye out for more recipes.*

Leave a Reply

